EU States Stand Up for Israel at the UN Human Rights Council

26 Mar 2019

In a unprecedented move by Western members of the UN Human Rights Council, all EU member states voted against a permanent item singling out Israel. The vote was the first time that EU members states, plus Brazil and Japan, have voted against a recurrent draft resolution that is the only permanent item on the agenda singling out one nation – Israel.

The EU states on the Human Rights Council are Austria, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Hungary, Italy, Slovakia, Spain and the United Kingdom.

Despite opposition from the Western states, the draft passed with 26 states in favor and 16 opposed.

Read more on JTA