21 Jun 2006

An Acronym, based on the letters T [for “Torah”], N (for “Neviim,” the Prophets), and K (for “Ketuvim,” the Sacred Writings). It is the compendium of the teachings of G-d to human beings in document form.

How does G-d teach Man? In the Torah, He did it by direct communication with Moshe, the “Master of the Prophets,” whereby Moshe literally received “dictation from Heaven” for every word of the Torah. In the “Neviim,” HaShem “spoke,” as it were, with the great and holy Prophets and Prophetesses of the Jewish People, and His Messages were transmitted by them to the Jewish People, for the most part, and sometimes to other nations. In the Sacred Writings, great individuals were inspired by “Ruach HaKodesh,” the Holy Spirit, to produce great and holy works.

The composition of the Tanach was determined by the “Anshei K’nesset HaGedolah,” the Men of the Great Assembly, under the influence of the “Holy Spirit.” It consists of twenty-four “Books,” where first and second volumes of one work are counted as one, and where all the twelve “Books” of the “Trei Asar,” the Twelve Prophets, are also considered as one.

The twenty-four “Books” are as follows:

1-5: The Five Books of Moses:
• Bereshit, or Genesis
• Shemot, or Exodus
• VaYikra, or Leviticus
• BaMidbar, or Numbers
• Devarim, or Deuteronomy.

6-9: The “Neviim Rishonim,” the Early Prophets:
• Yehoshua
• “Shoftim”/Judges
• Shmuel I and II
• “Melachim”/Kings I and II

10-13: The “Neviim Acharonim,” the Later Prophets:
• Yeshayahu
• Yirmiyahu
• Yechezkel
• “Trei Asar”:

Books and Prophets within “Trei Asar”:
Hoshea, Yoel, Amos, Ovadiah, Yonah, Michah, Nachum, Chavakuk, Tzefaniah, Chaggai, Zechariah, Malachi

14-16: The “Sifrei Emet,” “Books of Truth”:
• “Tehilim”/Psalms
• “Mishlei”/Proverbs
• “Iyov”/Job

17-21: The “Five Megilot” or “Five Scrolls”:
• “Shir HaShirim”/Song of Songs
• Ruth
• “Eichah”/Lamentations
• “Kohelet”/Ecclesiastes
• Esther

22-24: The “Other Writings”:
• Daniel
• Ezra-Nechemiah
• “Divrei HaYamim”/Chronicles I and II