NCSY Ben Zakkai Honor Society Dinner to Honor Leaders from NY, NJ & LA; January 10, 2016 in NYC

29 Dec 2015

The 21st annual Ben Zakkai Honor Society (BZHS) NCSY National Scholarship Reception will take place on Sunday, January 10, 2016 at the Museum of Jewish Heritage in Manhattan. Chaired by Vivian and Dr. David Luchins, the dinner will present awards to longtime outstanding NCSY trailblazers. Additionally, there will be an induction ceremony for four young NCSY leaders entering the Society.

The honorees include Terry and Dennis M. Eisenberg from Brooklyn who will receive the Ezra Ben Zion Lightman Memorial Award;  Dr. Murray Leben of Teaneck who will receive the Enid and Harold Boxer Memorial Award; and Chani and Rabbi Dave Felsenthal of Passaic, NJ, who will receive the Rebbetzin Elaine and Rabbi Pinchas Stolper Service Award.

The 2016 inductees for BZHS are David Cutler of Staten Island, NY; David Statman of Los Angeles; and Elliot Tanzman and Eli Weinstein of Manhattan.

NCSY is the international youth movement of the Orthodox Union. Every day, countless Jewish teens connect to their heritage through NCSY’s innovative programs.

BZHS was founded in 1965 to provide a means of recognizing the achievements of NCSY Alumni who have demonstrated personal Torah growth and the promise of future meaningful service to the Jewish people and the Orthodox community. The society raises critical funds to provide direct scholarships for NCSYers to continue their Jewish education after high school or to participate in various NCSY programs.

Dinner co-chairman Dr. David Luchins explained, “The vitality and success of NCSY is largely a tribute to the devotion, dedication and passion that our inductees and honorees bring to every aspect of their personal and communal lives.”

Prior to the dinner there will be a shiur given by Rabbi Paysach Krohn, noted author and lecturer, in memory of NCSY pioneers Zahava (Janet) Goldwasser a”h and Sharon Kurzer Sabbagh a”h.

For more information about the BZHS 2016 dinner contact Elaine Grossman at 212-613-8350, or Rhoda Farbowitz at 212-613-8110.