Jewish Holidays

Foods Which May Not Be Used On Passover

June 29, 2006, by

The OU emblem is the registered trademark (U.S. Patent #636,593 and #1,087,891) of the Kashruth Division of the Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations of America. It may be used only by authority of the Orthodox Union Kashruth Division. This guide is a list of certified kosher products for use for Passover, is published annually and […]

The “Seder”

June 29, 2006, by

The Seder is a ritual banquet which reenacts the Exodus, conducted on both the first and second evenings of Passover. Its major feature is the reading of the Haggadah, which relates, in detail, the events of the Exodus of the Jewish people from ancient Egypt, complete with symbolic reenactments using Kosher wine, specially prepared Matzah, […]

When Do Passover Dietary Laws End?

June 29, 2006, by

All Passover Dietary Laws remain in effect until nightfall of the eighth day of Passover. Chametz which was in the possession or jurisdiction of a Jew during Passover, in violation of Jewish law, is forbidden for consumption by any Jew even after Passover. What Other Restrictions Are Applicable On Passover? Sabbath-like restrictions on work and […]

What is “Matzoh” or “Matzah”?

June 29, 2006, by

Matzah is a crisp, flat, unleavened bread, made of flour and water, which must be baked before the dough has had time to rise. It is the only type of “bread” which Jews may eat during Passover, and it must be made specifically for Passover use, under rabbinical supervision. Eating Matzah on Passover commemorates the […]

How Do I Prepare for Passover

June 29, 2006, by

What Special Preparations Must Be Made In The Jewish Home For Passover? The home must be thoroughly cleaned of all Chametz before Passover. Any Chametz not removed from a Jew’s premises before Passover should be sold. Jewish law forbids the use of any Chametz which remains in a Jew’s possession during Passover, even after the […]

What Is “Kosher for Passover”

June 29, 2006, by

What Does “KOSHER FOR PASSOVER” Mean? During Passover, Jewish law forbids the consumption or possession by Jews of all edible fermented grain products (Chametz) or related foods. Therefore, even foods and household products which meet the strict, year-round dietary regulations, and are considered Kosher, are nevertheless, often unacceptable, or require special preparation for Passover use […]

When does Passover Begin?

June 29, 2006, by

According to Biblical law, Passover is determined by the Jewish lunar calendar, and begins on the eve of the fifteenth day of the month of Nisan. The English date varies from year to year, falling in March or in April. View our holiday calendar for the English dates


June 29, 2006, by

Hallel consists of six Psalms (113-118), which are said as a unit, on joyous occasions, when the praise of G-d is particularly appropriate, immediately following the Shacharit “Shemoneh Esrei.” These occasions include the following: The three “major” festivals, Pesach, Shavuot and Sukkot, the term “major” meaning that the festival is mentioned in the “Chamishei Chumshei […]

Torah Reading for Shabbat Chol HaMoed

June 29, 2006, by

The morning Torah reading of Shabbat Chol Ha-moed consists of selected portions from Parshat Ki Tisa. The conclusion of the reading summarily addresses the Shalosh Regalim, and this would seem to be the relevance of the reading to the day. However, the first six aliyot have nothing to do with Yom Tov; rather, they deal […]

What is Passover?

June 26, 2006, by

Passover is an eight day Jewish holiday, of Biblical origin, marking the birth of the Jews as a people and their emergence as a unique nation in history, devoted to G-d’s will. It celebrates the liberation of the children of Israel from slavery in Egypt over 3000 years ago, under the leadership of Moses.

© 2016 Orthodox Union | All Rights Reserved