Reflections on Teshuvah and Beyond: OU Begins New Take Five for Torah Series

August 17, 2006

REFLECTIONS ON TESHUVAH & BEYOND: OU BEGINS NEW TAKE FIVE FOR TORAH SERIES

The Orthodox Union will make the teshuvah (repentance) process for the upcoming High Holidays easier and more profound with its Chodesh Elul: Reflections on Teshuvah and Beyond education programming on OU radio, www.ouradio.org.

This series is part of the Take Five for Torah program of the OU’s Pepa and Rabbi Joseph Karasick Department of Synagogue Services, in which rabbis from OU member synagogues across North America will share their insights with a worldwide audience in five-minute sessions.

Rabbi Robert Shur, Program Coordinator in the Department of Synagogue Services, declared, “By following the wisdom of the Talmud — ‘How great is Torah learning, for its study brings one to further action,’ (Baba Kama, 17a) — the segments are designed to inspire one towards further commitment in all areas of Judaism, beginning now with the Yomim Noraim (High Holidays) and continuing throughout the New Year.”

During the non-holiday season, the daily Take Five For Torah programming offers insights on tefilah (prayer) on Mondays, halacha (Jewish law) on Tuesdays, midot (character traits) development on Wednesdays, parsha (weekly Torah portion) on Thursdays, and Shabbat-related topics on Fridays.

However, beginning Rosh Hodesh Elul, Friday, August 25 and continuing until the end of the holiday period, October 12, the program will be devoted exclusively to inspirational thoughts on Elul, Teshuvah, Rosh HaShanah, Yom Kippur and Sukkot. Participating rabbis come from all over North America.

For further information, and to listen to the programs, access the website www.ouradio.org/takefive or contact Rabbi Shur at Roberts@ou.org.

The following is Take Five for Torah schedule (tentative and subject to change):

Friday, August 25, Rabbi Elazar Muskin, Young Israel of Century City, Los Angles, CA

Monday, August 28, Rabbi Jeffrey Fox, Kehillat Kesher, Englewood, NJ

Tuesday, August 29, Rabbi Eliezer Gurkow, Congregation Beth Tefilah, London, ON

Wednesday, August 30, Rabbi Shai Finkelstein, Baron Hirsch Congregation, Memphis, TN

Thursday, August 31, Rabbi David Wilensky, Congregation Ohab Zedek, New York, NY

Friday, September 1, Rabbi Shaye Guttenberg, The Desert Synagogue, Palm Springs, CA

Monday, September 4, Rabbi Ira Ebbin, Young Israel of Stamford, Stamford, CT

Tuesday, September 5, Rabbi Shlomo Yaffe, Congregation Agudas Achim, West Hartford, CT

Wednesday, September 6, Rabbi Yechiel Morris, Young Israel of Southfield, Southfield, MI

Thursday, September 7, Rabbi Melvin Sachs, Williamsbridge Jewish Center, Bronx, NY

Friday, September 8, Rabbi Shlomo Levin, Lake Park Synagogue, Milwaukee, WI

Monday, September 11, Rabbi Elan Adler, Moses Montefiore Anshe Emunah Congregation, Baltimore, MD

Tuesday, September 12, Rabbi Ilan Feldman, Congregation Beth Jacob, Atlanta, GA

Wednesday, September 13, Rabbi Yehoshua Grunstein, Beth Israel Synagogue, Halifax, NS

Thursday, September 14, Rabbi Yechiel Goldreich, Congregation B’nai Torah, Willowdale, ON

Friday, September 15, Rabbi Fred Hyman, Congregation Kodimoh, Springfield, MA

Monday, September 18, Rabbi Gideon Shloush, Congregation Adereth El, New York, NY

Tuesday, September 19, Rabbi Joseph Weiss, Congregation B’nai Emunoh, Pittsburgh, PA

Wednesday, September 20, Rabbi Barry Gelman, United Orthodox Synagogue, Houston, TX

Thursday, September 21, Rabbi Benjamin Samuels, Congregation Shaarei Tefillah, Newton, MA

Friday, September 22, Rabbi Dovid Weinberger, Congregation Shaaray Tefila, Lawrence, NY

Tuesday, September 26, Rabbi Joel Finkelstein, Anshei Sphard – Beth El Emeth Congregation, Memphis, TN

Wednesday, September 27, Rabbi Dovid Gottlieb, Shomrei Emunah, Baltimore, MD

Thursday, September 28, Rabbi Yehoshua Hecht, Beth Israel Synagogue of Westport/Norwalk, Norwalk, CT

Friday, September 29, Rabbi Mordechai Torczyner, Congregation Sons of Israel, Allentown, PA

Tuesday, October 3, Rabbi Adam Starr, Hebrew Institute of Riverdale, Bronx, NY

Wednesday, October 4, Rabbi Ephraim Epstein, Congregation Sons of Israel, Cherry Hill, NJ

Thursday, October 5, Rabbi Howard Wolk, Young Israel of West Hartford, West Hartford, CT

Friday, October 6, Rabbi Joel Tessler, Beth Sholom Congregation and Talmud Torah, Potomac, MD

Monday, October 9, Rabbi Chaim Strauchler, Beit Chaverim Synagogue, Westport, CT

Tuesday, October 10, Rabbi Leonard Matanky, Congregation KINS, Chicago, IL

Wednesday, October 11, Rabbi Uri Goldstein, Congregation Ahavas Achim, Fairlawn, NJ

Thursday, October 12, Rabbi David Fine, Congregation Beth Israel Abraham and Voliner (BIAV), Overland Park, KS